Today’s Start

Today I met up with a friend who I haven’t seen in a while for breakfast. Keeping my new diet plan in mind, I ordered a belgium waffle with strawberries. Now, I know what you’re thinking: a belgium waffle does not sound healthy at all. But consider this: If I were to order eggs, the eggs come with buttered toast and hash browns. It costs extra for you to ask for fruit in place of the hash browns, and you are tempted to eat them if they are on your plate. Also, restaurants almost always cook their eggs with butter, which I never do at home. Their omelettes are huge, again cooked with butter, and filled with unhealthy items like bacon, sausage, or vegetables cooked in butter. A belgium waffle is just one waffle, not a short stack or a tall stack like ordering pancakes. I ordered the strawberries and cream waffle but without the powdered sugar dusting and asked for sugar-free syrup on the side. It came un buttered, and it came without the cream which I decided was a good thing because I saved calories. The strawberries were fresh, not from a can, and I drank water on the side. I bet you I got away with a 500 calories meal that tasted like dessert, and will last meal past lunch time.

Leave a comment